The Markets are Getting in the Way

The past month has not been very easy.  In fact it has been the most incredibly intense month of my career; I am an analyst at an investment management firm.  I don’t make healthy choices when I’m under stress, and a 20% decline in a couple weeks is definitely stress inducing. 

So how am I doing on my short term goals for October, which are my first step towards Flanders next April?

1)Master the Breathing Techniques set forth in Cyclo-Secrets.  I am progressing well here.  I actually work on many of the breathing techniques in my car on my commute to the office in the morning.  I have to work on other breathing techniques when I look at my quote screen!

2)Concentrate on nutrition by focusing on meal planning.  Not happening.  Not good.  My weight is negatively correlated with the markets: when they go down, it seems my weight goes the other direction!

3) Increase upper body and back strength  I haven’t done as much as I has hoped.  I was hoping to hit the gym a few times a week to work on my upper body and back.  I think I have gotten there two times to work on strength training.

4) don’t neglect my core!  I have been doing my core workouts: short and intense.  I have been able to fit them in around everything else.  hurray.

I did have a chance to do a yoga workout last night, and that felt great.  I am glad Graeme taught me the benefits of yoga, I have really come to enjoy doing it!!

Also on a positive note, I am going away for the weekend with my cycling buddies.  We have rented a house in central PA and are looking forward to doing some low-key autumn riding on unfamiliar roads!

One Response to “The Markets are Getting in the Way”

  1. Colleen Says:

    Good job on working on hitting your goals. You are rocking on some, working on others step by step. What’s your favorite core workout? I love Graeme’s ab workouts because they are so quick and killer!

Leave a Reply

