Long Term Goal: Just a Bunch of Short Term Goals

There is a quick tip in Cyclo-Club this week dedicated to setting short term goals.  “Short-term goals complete your long term goal.”  You all know that my long-term goal: be in the best shape of my life for the Ronde van Vlaanderen sportiff and specifically increase my explosive power.”  

My goal is about six months away, so I will only get there by focusing on many short-term goals.  Last month, my unstated short term goal: get back into core training after a summer of neglect.  Well, I focused on it and quickly made meaningful strides in my core fitness.  In fact, see my earlier post on the plank

One of my short-term goals for the month of October: Master the Breathing Techniques set forth in Cyclo-Secrets. 

Second short-term goal for October: Concentrate on nutrition by focusing on meal planning.

Third short-term goal for October: Increase upper body and back strength

And last but not least, don’t neglect my core!

Leave a Reply

