Failing on Nutrition… Try, Try, Again.

 

My largest stumbling block to becoming a better cyclist is my nutrition.  No matter how hard I try, I can’t stay dedicated to eating healthy.  My sweet tooth always seems to win out in the war of wills.  I have always had the hardest time eating well during the in-season.  When I am riding lots, it is easy for me to justify poor eating decisions.  And when I start riding less it is easier for me to watch my diet and nutrition.  I know, I am mental.
 
Now that I am in the Transition Phase of my training and riding much less, I need to focus more diligently on my intake.  Historically, I will do well for a couple days in a row, and then fail miserably and go a week piling empty calories into my system before I get back on track.
 
I am trying as best I can to follow the precepts set forward in “Fuel.”  I am shopping the outside of the grocery store and loading up on fruits and veggies and trying to shun white breads and processed foods. 
 
I always feel better after following a healthy diet for a few days.  Now only if I could string it together for more than a few days in a row!

One Response to “Failing on Nutrition… Try, Try, Again.”

  1. Josh Says:

    First off – love the graphic of the DQ blizzard – that’s awesome. (Easily recognizable by me, since I worked in a DQ for FIVE SUMMERS!)

    I’m with you – nailing nutrition and breaking bad habits is *really* hard. As you alluded, though, healthy eating starts @ the super market. If I just don’t buy crap, then I won’t eat it (helps not to shop right after a big ride, when I’m starving too!).

    It’s been a gradual process for me to actually now crave healthy foods rather than the packaged, processed, nutritionally worthless ones. Most of the time these days, i’d rather have a frozen banana for a treat over an ice cream… but I’ll still cave for good gelato 🙂

    Keep up the great posts!

Leave a Reply

